The NHS in Lothian

Lothian Health Board (1993)

In 1993, the units created in 1992 made an application to become an NHS Trust under the terms of the NHS and Community Care Act 1990. The Trusts were not directly managed by Lothian Health Board: they were within the NHS but as distinct organisations independent of the Health Board. Each Trust had its own chairmen and boards of directors.

On 1 April 1993, West Lothian Unit became West Lothian NHS Trust and the other five units followed on 1 April 1994: East and Midlothian Unit became East and Midlothian NHS Trust; Edinburgh Priority Services Unit became Edinburgh Healthcare NHS Trust; Edinburgh Child Health Unit became Edinburgh Sick Children’s NHS Trust; Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and Associated Hospitals Unit became Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh NHS Trust; Western General Hospitals Unit became Western General Hospitals NHS Trust.

[Where text appears in blue, this is a link to a collection of records held by LHSA.]

Unit Trust Hospitals and Services Controlled

East and Midlothian Unit

East and Midlothian NHS Trust Belhaven Hospital, Dunbar
Eastern General Hospital
East Fortune Hospital, North Berwick
Edenhall Hospital
Edington Cottage Hospital, North Berwick
Herdmanflat Hospital, Haddington
Leith Hospital
Liberton Hospital
Loanhead Hospital
Roodlands General Hospital, Haddington
Rosslynlee Hospital
Edinburgh Child Health Unit Edinburgh Sick Children’s NHS Trust Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children

Edinburgh Priority Services Unit

Edinburgh Healthcare NHS Trust Astley Ainslie Hospital
Corstorphine Hospital
Gogarburn Hospital
Northern General Hospital
Royal Edinburgh Hospital
Southfield Hospital

Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and Associated Hospitals Unit

Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh NHS Trust Chalmers Hospital
City Hospital
Edinburgh Dental Hospital and School
Princess Alexandra Eye Pavilion
Princess Margaret Rose Orthopaedic Hospital
Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
Simpson Memorial Maternity Pavilion

Western General Hospitals Unit

Western General Hospitals NHS Trust Royal Victoria Hospital
Western General Hospital
West Lothian Unit West Lothian NHS Trust Bangour Village Hospital
St John's Hospital
St Michael’s Hospital
Tippethill Hospital