The NHS in Lothian

Lothian Health Board (1992-1993)

In April 1992, NHS reforms took effect which sought to differentiate responsibility between:

  • the services provided (more responsibility on hospitals and management units);
  • developing policies to meet health needs and purchasing services from providers (responsibility of board).

The seven units of management created in 1986 were restructured into six new units as follows:

[Where text appears in blue, this is a link to a collection of records held by LHSA.]

Unit Hospitals and Services Controlled

East and Midlothian Unit



Belhaven Hospital, Dunbar
Eastern General Hospital
East Fortune Hospital, North Berwick
Edenhall Hospital
Edington Cottage Hospital, North Berwick
Herdmanflat Hospital, Haddington
Leith Hospital
Liberton Hospital
Loanhead Hospital
Roodlands General Hospital, Haddington
Rosslynlee Hospital
Edinburgh Child Health Unit Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children

Edinburgh Priority Services Unit



Astley Ainslie Hospital
Corstorphine Hospital
Gogarburn Hospital
Northern General Hospital
Royal Edinburgh Hospital
Southfield Hospital

Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and Associated Hospitals Unit

Chalmers Hospital
City Hospital
Edinburgh Dental Hospital and School
Princess Alexandra Eye Pavilion
Princess Margaret Rose Orthopaedic Hospital
Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
Simpson Memorial Maternity Pavilion

Western General Hospitals Unit

Royal Victoria Hospital
Western General Hospital
West Lothian Unit Bangour Village Hospital
St John's Hospital
St Michael’s Hospital
Tippethill Hospital