The NHS in Lothian

Lothian Health Board (1974-1986)

Following the NHS (Scotland) Act 1972, Regional Hospital Boards, Boards of Management and Executive Councils were abolished in 1974 and responsibility for community health services was also transferred from local authorities. These bodies were replaced by 15 regional health boards acting on behalf of the Secretary of State for Scotland. Lothian Health Board was made responsible for Midlothian, East Lothian and West Lothian. It was based at 11 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh.

In 1974 a new Lothian Area Medical Committee (LAMC) was also created, with a General Practitioners Sub-Committee (GPSC). Lothian Local Medical Committee (LLMC) took the place of the existing local medical committee for Lothians and Peebles, with office-bearers from the GPSC taking the same posts within LLMC.

The districts within the Health Board boundaries were as follows:

[Where text appears in blue, this is a link to a collection of records held by LHSA.]

District Hospitals Controlled

North Lothian District


Beechmount Hospital (see Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh)
Belhaven Hospital, Dunbar
Corstorphine Hospital
Dunbar Cottage Hospital
Eastern General Hospital
East Fortune Hospital, North Berwick
Edenhall Hospital
Edington Cottage Hospital, North Berwick
Gogarburn Hospital
Herdmanflat Hospital, Haddington
Leith Hospital
Musselburgh Hospital
Northern General Hospital
Park House Psychiatric Unit
Roodlands General Hospital, Haddington
Royal Victoria Tuberculosis Trust
Vert Memorial Hospital, Haddington
Western General Hospital

South Lothian District


Astley Ainslie Hospital
Bruntsfield Hospital
Chalmers Hospital
City Hospital
Deaconess Hospital
Edinburgh Dental Hospital and School
Edinburgh Foot Clinic and School of Chiropody
Elsie Inglis Memorial Maternity Hospital
Liberton Hospital
Longmore Hospital
Princess Margaret Rose Orthopaedic Hospital
Queen Mary Maternity Home (see Simpson Memorial Maternity Pavilion)
Rosslynlee Hospital
Royal Edinburgh Hospital
Royal Edinburgh Hospital for Sick Children
Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
Simpson Memorial Maternity Pavilion
Southfield Hospital

West Lothian District


Bangour General Hospital
Bangour Village Hospital
Drumshoreland Hospital
St Michael’s Hospital
Tippethill Hospital